Rahul of Welcome to the Devils Workshop is warning users of a new fake Orkut site that has sprung up online.
The site goes by the address of Orkuft .com (note: intentionally separated, DO NOT visit address while logged into your Google account) whose purpose seems to be stealing users accounts.
A quick Whois.net search reveals that this hacker may reside in Switzerland although the tech address registers from the US.
I'm in the process of forwarding this to Google, and if you have accidentally clicked on the account from either a scrapbook or forum, contact Orkut immediately and change your Google account password ASAP!
If anyone else comes across any other phishing sites, please let all of us know by either posting it on a weblog or commenting here.
















4 opinions:
isnt orCut.com a google site?
then why doesnt google announce it officially
Orcut.com was either a fake Orkut site as well before Google shut it down and took over, or just a random site Google bought out so that users would not be confused.
this one has been out there for a long time..'The India Pakistan Friendship Club' on orkut was hacked into last March using the same site..the guy who got into had a profile name 'Bad Boy' back then.
After getting in touch with the Google office here in India, we got the community transferred back to the rightful owner..
please update link in above post although it may be outdated!
Updated links:
http://www.devilsworkshop.org/2007/01/22/alert-beware-of-these-fake-orkut-links/
Post a Comment
Welcome to Inside Orkut, the unofficial blog to Orkut.com, a social network by Google.
Feel free to post your opinions and questions below, or just email me or scrap me if Orkut is your style.
Cheers!