I would like to know the answer too. Anyone here know what is the right answer to your question. I'll do some research and get back to you if I find an good answer. You should email the people at Medifast as they probably can help you..
'scuse me for being stupid... but what wine ISN'T vegan?..
Some wines are filtered thru bone meal. So no, all wines are NOT vegan...
Wines And Beers.
Wine is clarified, or cleared, after fermentation. Some of the ingredients used include:.
- edible gelatins (made from bones).
- isinglass (made from the swim bladders of fish).
- casein and potassium caseinate (milk proteins).
- animal albumin (egg albumin and dried blood powder).
[For more information see Vegan Wines available in the U.S. and Vegan Wine Guide. For two on-line retailers of vegan wine, click here.].
In the UK beer (bitter) is also commonly fined using isinglass. Many bottled bitters and most lagers are vegan. Guinness is not suitable for vegans. Most spirits are vegan except for Campari (contains cochineal) and some Vodkas (passed through bone charcoal)..
[Click here for a list of vegan beers in the U.S. For the UK, see The UK Vegetarian Society's list of vegetarian beers.]..
I just wanted to say that I agree 100% with Revvell. Vegan or not, it's still a poison, and for me personally a special occasion is not made more special by poisoning myself...
Poison or not - I don't crave wine at all. Alcohol is to numb something - I want to be aware, clear and have fun drinking pineapple juice or green smoothie..
Agreed! Anything that negatively impairs the central nervous system and can cause addiction I'd stay away from. Alcohol fits this bill as do drugs..
Im in agreement but I did enjoy the taste of wine, not to get drunk off of it...
I didn't find anything that would substuitute glass of champagne at new year and I am gonna drink it. And if I am going drink my one glass it will be very gooooood champagne!..
I too like to partake in a glass of well aged (like me.
) wine from time to time..
I didn't realize there was such a thing as vegan wine. I've learned so much today!..
I do miss my occassional glass of reds. My last one was about 4 months ago. I don't see the correlation between wine and poison unless you down bottles of it. Wine is just fermented grape juice. All fermented juice have alcohol in it. The kombucha tea I drank today has a warning that it contains alcohol.
If you're worried about sulfite (a preservative in wine) you can buy organic wine at hfs. If it's a special occasion and you want to have a drink then go for it..
My feelings exactly which is why I quit drinking many moons ago. I figure if I really feel the need to celebrate, a glass of organic orange juice is SO much better!.
I drink a glass of red wine (the dark red turn your teeth purple stuff) everyday. It does have health benefits, and I enjoy sipping it! I am going to make sure I buy vegan wine from now on. eeeewwww!..
I enjoy a glass of red wine now and then..
I don't drink enough to poison myself...
Kombucha is an alcoholic drink in my opinion. It's just not your typical alcoholic drink...
I have never drunk alcohol in my life until now. I am 32. I started to partake just to taste at age 28. Allowed myself to get drunk last year just to see what the commotion is all about. There is nothing special, fun or amusing about it. I can't beleive that society is obsessed drowning yourself with alcohol to the point where you get sick..
I love Riesling and Rheinhessen because they are nice and sweet. I am trying to find a good sweet red wine. If I am going to have wine, I only allow myself a half a cup a day until the bottle finishes up. Depending on the wine, 3 oz is far enough to feel a little "buzz". Why buzz up yourself more. And I only drink wine with dinner.
But I am now into wines, because I basically only drink water these days and maybe tea, so having a little something "special" during dinner is nice. Since I am smoothing everything to death currently, having fresh juice is nothing special for celebratory libations...
Frey wine has VEGAN wines!!! they are pretty good too..
Here is there site:.
I drink wine occasionally. I like a good dryish white..
I'm lucky enough to have access to some raw vegan wines at the market I visit. No preservatives, not fined through anything let alone fish or egg etc. and the only ingredient is the fruit and the starter..
I rarely ever drink anything alcoholic these days - I think I'm losing my taste for it...but if I were to drink wines, vegan would be the way I'd do it!..
Some wines are passed through the materials you mentioned, but most dry whites and almost all dry red wines are not. Dry reds especially don't need to be clarified in this way..
Even so, these materials act to pull small solids out of the wine that can cause the wine to cloud up, not unlike the clouds you see in fresh-pressed apple juice. So none of those materials (gelatin, isinglass, etc) are in the finished product..
Some people are concerned about the added sulfites in wine. In fact, the process of fermentation creates a small amount of sulfites in the wine naturally. Dry wines have a small amount of additional sulfite added while sweet wines have more sulfites plus potassium benzoate added...
There are always trace amounts of the finings left in the wine. There's not real way of getting it all out..
Plus the fact that many vegans (myself included) object to the processing of any foods with animal products. Even though the residue is minimal, the animal product was used as a part of the process, adding to the usage of animal products, which is anathema to a vegan way of living..
It's up to the person whether they do drink non vegan wines, but the wines aren't vegan..
Many whites are passed through finings, at least here in Australia. There has been a law passed that finings must now be mentioned on the label as traces of, and most wines now have this mention, usually egg or milk, but also issinglass..
Many commercial wineries use finings to decrease turnover rates of each batch. If left and turned, the sediment can be removed by slow precipitation out of the wine, but obviously this isn't convenient for high turnover, therefore finings were introduced...
THIS is why I am so very against alcohol, and I dont even want it served at my wedding, but my mother-in-law to be insists she drink wine. Apparently she wants to numb her senses while I marry her son...
You do have a way of saying things!!! you are so funny!!..
No....I eschew it. Just my personal choice. I drank enough in my youth to last a lifetime. My nervous system doesn't need any depressing! LOL..
-David Z. Mason..