insideorkut.com

How many DNS(Godaddy domain name server/system) are there globally ?

Get GoDaddy web hosting for just $1.99. Click here to use coupon...

Special $7.49 .COM sales. Click here for this special deal...
First question I have is How many DNS(Godaddy domain name server/system) are there globally ? Many thanks for any comment. Another question on my mind: I just received an email from a guy saying the following:.

".

I'm interested in your HostGator name pokerrom.info listed for sale..

Can you drop me your desired price?.

If I can afford it I'll reply..

By the way, did you receive offers from other buyers?.

I run a software development company. Selling & buying names is not my main.

Business. Just another way to invest money and make additional income..

".

WHAT SHOULD I ANSWER?.

Thanks!.

Aboujouj83..

Comments (16)

Good question... I dunno what is the right answer to your question. I'll do some Googling and get back to you if I discover an answer. You should email the people at Godaddy as they probably know..

Comment #1

I have receided something like that too.. for a HostGator which has already expired.. stupid scammer (or his bots)..

Comment #2

You dont have nothing to lose....

Just answer with a good price..

If it's getting traffic ask for $xxx.

And if you will get an answer post it here and you'll get a better opinion..

99% that this one is fake but there you have the 1% to hope...

Comment #3

Sorry to break the bad news, bad I think this is a scam..

You can always make a price and try but I think they will just want you to get an appraisal that cost money and they will not end up buying your domain...

Comment #4

Don't encourage him to give it a try, it is clearly a scam..

It is 100% sure, so it is not a good idea to waste your time (neither money of course) in keeping the contact with that fake buyer...

Comment #5

From the other posts on the forums and the response from people that have had the same thing and for what it's worth it sure as hell looks like a scam, I didn't know things like this went on untill I joined this board..

But dude I'd adhear to what the people are saying stay clear, most people think 99% a scam...

Comment #6

Watch its, it is bad email, and probably fake, dont reply,..

Comment #7

He will say OK to any price you say then ask for apriasel.

Tell him you he can have it free at that point and he will still request the apraisel.

I have recieved emails from toughguy over 100 times, ( I luv registerfly's spamfly email with the aodkaoskd@ generated emails ) all the same guy/girl..

Comment #8

This guy is spamming anyone who registers a HostGator or has one up for auction..

So far I have seen the email with three different company names and sender.

Names. The content is always the same...

Comment #9

In some of the emails he even asks you to keep it a secret..

Comment #10

Yes he did ask to keep it secret!.

Thanks for your warnings, I won't waste my time to reply to him..

Aboujouj83..

Comment #11

Glad you can take it well.

But do think it is really mean for a newbie, false hope of a sale and all that..

Comment #12

Red flag #1. If the so called owner of a software company is sending email from a hotmail or other free mail service..

2. Asks for an appraisal(they are all mostly scams and worthless).

3. Google the business name he is claiming to be apart of and follow the breadcrumb trail to nowhere..

Advice: If someone is really interested in your HostGator and needs an appraisal they should pay for it themselves. I can't believe these guys have not been shut down yet. We [I.

]all.

[/I]know who they work.

For.

In the.

Domains.

Industry..

Hope you get a legit buyer soon...

Comment #13

The same thing here:.

Hello,.

>.

> I'm interested in your HostGator name listed for sale..

>.

> Can you drop me your desired price?.

>.

> If I can afford it I'll reply..

>.

> By the way, did you receive offers from other buyers?.

>.

> I run a software development company. Selling & buying names is not my main business. Just another way to invest money and make additional income..

>.

> Please keep our correspondence confidential..

>.

> Best regards,.

>.

> Dwight Cheney.

>.

> Ph. D. President.

>.

> TCR Engineering..

Comment #14

You're not alone..

Threads with exactly same emails discussed:.

Http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/123025-what-to-do-usual-scam-email.html.

Http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/101524-correspondence-with-a-scammer.html.

Http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=108888.

Http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/96797-beware-scammer-by-name-sarah-murray.html.

Http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/104580-scammer-sarah-ludwig-nt-t-software.html.

Http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/114731-scam.html.

Http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/109182-tough-tech-consulting-jmontoya-toughguy-net.html.

Http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/108073-toughnet-scam.html.

<- This one's good.

Http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/104971-does-this-smell-fishy-you-guys.html.

And more... 24 total...

Comment #15

These guys won't stop till they are behind bars, wow it's incredible how many people they are trying to scam or have scammed...

Comment #16

I hate them, they all need to be locked up for a few years so we can spam them with letters and when they open it everytime it just says Fook from cut out magazines hehe..

Sorry I have had loads of them, they make me madddd!!..

Comment #17


This question was taken from a support group/message board and re-posted here so others can learn from it.