Good question... I dunno what is the right answer to your question. I'll do some research and get back to you if I bump into an useful answer. You should email the people at Godaddy as they probably can help you..
I would say that if this happens, say that you will get an appraisal if they pay, but you will knock that price of the appraisal, off the sale price..
Clever strategy just thought up then..
Yeah, I tried that with them. I also tried offering the HostGator in question for $20. In both cases they don't respond. In the case of the $20 offer, I wrote again days later and said it was a typo and that I changed my offer to $2,000. Then I got a response in about 5 minutes. LOL.
IMO the entire website is a scam. If you look at their domains wanted listing, they all look like they're written by the same person. It's poor English - just about every wanted listing shows an exorbitant budget. I'm sure if you respond to the wanted listing they'll insist you get an appraisal first and then reject the domain...
Scammity Calamity!.
I replied back (At one point) that I would only accept appraisals from.
Valuateit.com.
, and of course they disappeared (But not before leaving me with a 2 page letter about how bad sedo/afternic appraisals were, and how great allfordomains was).
Meh. (Oh yeah, the point of the valuateit.com thing was that is my own site, so I figured I might get a couple bucks out of the scammers somehow ("reciprical appraisals", etc.), but no luck.
).
-Allan..
Oh my god.. I had exactly the same mail...
I sended him a small mailbom around 50 mails with sender "you@area****ing.scammer".
Really hated it.. almost fooled me because it was my start at domaining....
That's a very common scam, I'm glad you did not fall for it..
(Paid) appraisals are bullshit anyway...
Yup- had that one about 6mths/yr ago- this scammer's getting lazier. Glad you didn't fall for it, wish I knew who the scumbag doing this was- surely there must be a way that these 'appraisal' companies he recommends could be boycotted due to their obvious involvement?..
I got a few of those emails a few months back. One even offered me $5000. But I had to go for his manual appriasal..
What a scam..
Glad you didnt fall for it...
AllForDomains.com is complete sham. If you read the site, you can tell it's written by someone with poor/broken English. The IP of these scam emails indicates the spammer is in Russia. What's even more pathetic is they have a "scams" page that covers "all the latest HostGator name scams" - all except the most prevalent one, their own!.
Http://www.allfordomains.com/scam.htm.
Hopefully Google will index this post - particularly the first sentence I worte so people won't fall for it...

