Need something highlighted? Email me!

Subscribe to Orkutsphere Chatter

Showing posts with label Orkut Clones. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Orkut Clones. Show all posts

Tuesday, January 23, 2007

Beware Of Fake Orkut Site

Rahul of Welcome to the Devils Workshop is warning users of a new fake Orkut site that has sprung up online.

The site goes by the address of Orkuft .com (note: intentionally separated, DO NOT visit address while logged into your Google account) whose purpose seems to be stealing users accounts.

A quick Whois.net search reveals that this hacker may reside in Switzerland although the tech address registers from the US.

I'm in the process of forwarding this to Google, and if you have accidentally clicked on the account from either a scrapbook or forum, contact Orkut immediately and change your Google account password ASAP!

If anyone else comes across any other phishing sites, please let all of us know by either posting it on a weblog or commenting here.

Tuesday, August 29, 2006

Another Orkut Clone In The Works?

They say imitation is the greatest form of flattery.

Whoever said that should talk to a copyright lawyer, who would enlighten them as to why the robed black masters would frown at this activity in the courtroom.

(GetAFreeLancer.com) Kartik786: "I want an exact clone of Orkut. I would like to see demo. I want the script to come with an installer. I'll cancel this project if i'm not satisfied."


Several people have already begun bidding for this project (which ranges between $100 and $30 USD) and the offering ends in about one month.

I guess if you can't beat the competition, then pay someone who can.

Thursday, August 10, 2006

If You Can't Beat Orkut, Just Copy It?

This sure is interesting. It seems that someone is seeking to hire a developer to "clone Orkut" and all of its features (with a few changes of course). Talk about opening yourself to a future lawsuit.

From Get A Freelancer.com

We are seeking developers to develop a clone of orkut.com with all it features, we will suggest minor modifications. This will be a from scratch project including graphic design. Please understand that we are looking for a complete project not simply graphic design.

While graphic design is very important, making sure the site functions properly is crucial to it's potential success. If you think you have the tools to get the job done, let us know. I will need hosting (optional-I can arrange with other party for hosting). Need to get everything top to bottom.


This offer is being made available via HifiGroups (who are they?) from the UK, and they are willing to pay up to $1500. The bid closes in five days (on August 15th) although hiring a lawyer may cost more than that.

Wednesday, August 09, 2006

Making Money Off Your Orkut Profile?

Fayis (via the Don't Worry, Be Happy forum) has spotted a user creating a "false" Orkut profile that looks almost like her original one--minus the Google Ads of course.



The site link is Orkvt.tk although you can find it originally hosted at Nina4u.50webs.com. Of all of the many copy cats I've seen, this by far is the most ingenious, although this one is not evil like the Orkut clone.

You can find Nina's real profile over here, although if I were her I would drop the fake Google search as the search engine king gets pretty angry when people do that.